MA 532-A1, Spring 2012

If you are a current student, this is the page to bookmark and check for updates. For the best results,

Syllabus.

Midterm and solutions (PDF).

Homework

Due May 1 (Tuesday): read 7.1 and 7.2, solve exercises 1 in 7.1 (page 132) and 1-4 in 7.2 (page 136). This homework is optional: it will be reviewed, but not graded.

Due April 24 (Tuesday): read 6.4 and 6.5, solve exercises 1-3, 6, 7, 10, 12-14 in 6.5 (page 122).

Due April 17 (Tuesday): read 6.3, use definition in exercise 6.3.3 to solve exercises 4 and 5 in 6.3 (page 114).

Due April 10 (Tuesday): read 5.1-6.2, solve exercises 6, 7 in 5.1 (page 97) and 3, 4, 5, 8 in 6.2 (page 110).

Due April 3 (Tuesday): read 4.5, solve exercises 1, 7, 8 in 4.5 (page 89).

Due March 27 (Tuesday): read 4.3, 4.4. Solve exercises 6 in 4.3 (page 79) and 2, 5, 8 in 4.4 (page 84).

Due March 1 (Thursday): read 4.1, 4.2. Solve exercises 5-9 in 4.1 (page 68). Rewrites for HW 4 and 5 are due March 6 (Tuesday).

Due February 23 (Thursday): read 3.2, 3.4. Solve exercises 4, 8 in 3.2 (page 45), 2, 3, 5, 6 in 3.4 (page 54).

Due February 14 (Tuesday): read 3.1. Solve exercises 5-7 in 2.3 (page 28), 2 in 2.4 (page 32) and 5 in 2.5 (page 37).

Due February 7 (Tuesday): read 2.4, 2.5. Solve exercises 1-3 in 2.2 (page 22).

Due January 31 (Tuesday): read 2.1, 2.2, 2.3. Solve exercises 4-6 in 1.4 (page 15).

Due January 24 (Tuesday): read 1.1-1.4. Solve exercises 1-6 in 1.3 (pages 11, 12).